Heart Thief

I was met with signs that read “No Trespassing.”  

So you gave me the blueprints but forgot to mention the electric fences that left me with burn marks, or the barbed wire that left me with these scars.  When I reached your heart, I still had to pick the locks to steal your love.  But I had it.  I thought I did.  Because that’s when you went quiet and I was just left with radio silence.  You made your great escape and I can’t help but think I’ve come away with nothing but a forgery.  

Leave a Reply

