Insert Coin to Play

​Dear player 2, don’t be afraid to jump into my game.  This extra quarter’s for you.

As a kid, my mom used to take me to a local mall arcade with some money I had saved from doing chores.  I loved playing those old school side scrolling beat ’em ups.  One of the best feelings was when someone joined the fray, meaning there were now 2 or possibly 3 or 4 people battling against the forces of evil.  The game was now not just of looking out for yourself but making sure your fellow turtles had enough pizza to eat to get to that boss.  One memory that stuck with me was the time another player had just died, and saw the dreaded “insert coin” flashing above his characters now empty health bar.  He reached into his pockets to no avail, but stayed to watch a little while.  With one hand still tapping away at buttons, and my eyes never leaving the screen, I reached into my pocket and pulled out a quarter and slid it across the panel.  He smiled and we continued our fight against the footclan.

Looking back at it, there have been a few times that’s happened.  The game wasn’t always the same but the cooperative aspect was there.  Sure, I may have cut my play time shorter, and others may not do the same, but I don’t regret it.  I’ve always learned life’s been more fun when there’s other players around.

Leave a Reply

