Existentialism of the Storm

​Why has it always been easiest to write about rain?  Why are storms so romantic and intriguing?  What is it about danger that draws us in?  I ask these questions but know too well the answers.  Because it is on the brink of death where we feel most alive.  That opposing force that allows us to realize the presence of the other.  I cannot live without knowing death, the same way I cannot love without feeling heartbreak, or immense joy without crippling depression.  I speak about the rain because I’m chasing the sunsets I won’t feel the need to write about.

4 thoughts on “Existentialism of the Storm

  1. I will immediately grasp your rss as I can’t in finding your email subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly permit me recognize so that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

  2. “Easiest to write about” – STORMS. Not rain.

    I find that the second sentence needs to be rewritten. Very bland. Imagery of a storm needs to be written with THUNDEROUS, POWER DEMANDING PRESENCE not simply “romantic and intriguing .” There’s no danger in that as the next sentence states.

    You need powerful storm imagery to better connect with the brink of death, the unyielding other , crippling depression etc.

    BRING THE DRAMA- The urgency of breaking out of the existentialism- breaking out of the storm and into chase.

    I hope you do not find my critique or edits mean. In a way, writing these helps me better understand the piece and fully appreciate the thought that goes into the piece.

    • Storms in their natural state are typically more impactful, stronger, damaging than rain showers. I am more inclined to include adjectives that may suggest the opposite, such as quiet or calm storms. I personally feel there can be some redundancy with storm like adjectives. Additionally, it is a supplementary/follow up piece with the previous piece describing an example in detail the storms people may write about.

  3. Lovely :) happiness cannot be found without pain. Like life cannot be valued without death – check out my first poem, deals with a similar theme – but more on the philosophical basis of purpose. (If u like!!) x

Leave a Reply

