Message In A Bottle

I sat here, with the sun falling behind the horizon.  The water was calm, but the waves inside clashed from the storms that lay within.  My feet dug deep in the sand.  My hands skimmed atop the grains.  I could smell the ocean air.  The day began to fade but I held its beautiful simplicity in my mind and heart.  I filled an old wine bottle, cleaned out, with just a handful of sand.  The way the grains fell was reminiscent of those hour glass or sand timers I’ve seen in old antique shops.  I hesitated, wondering if there was enough sand, but eventually sealed the glass neck with a cork.  As the night came, the stars followed.  The day had reached its exodus.  My time had run out here.  And so, with a hopeful naivety, I found myself knee deep in the water as I set the bottle down.  Maybe this little piece of the world where I am will reach you wherever you are.

Leave a Reply

